| 2.—Governors General of Canada since | Confederation, | 1867 |
|--------------------------------------|----------------|------|
|--------------------------------------|----------------|------|

| Name | Date of Appointment | Date of Assumption of Office |
|-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
| THE VISCOUNT MONCK OF BALLYTRAMMON. THE BARON LISGAR OF LISGAR AND BALLEBOROUGH. THE EARL OF DUFFERIN. THE MARQUIS OF LANSDOWNE. THE MARQUIS OF LANSDOWNE. THE BARON STANLEY OF PRESTON. THE EARL OF ABERDEEN. THE EARL OF ABERDEEN. THE EARL OF MINTO. THE EARL GREY. FIELD MARSHAL H. R. H. THE DUKE OF CONNAUGHT. THE DUKE OF DEVONSHIRE. GENERAL THE BARON BYNG OF VIMY. THE VISCOUNT WILLINGDON OF RATTON. THE EARL OF BESSBOROUGH. THE BARON TWEEDSMUIR OF ELSFIELD. MAJOR GENERAL THE EARL OF ATHLONE. FIELD MARSHAL THE VISCOUNT ALEXANDER OF TUNIS. THE RIGHT HONOURABLE VINCENT MASSEY. GENERAL THE RIGHT HONOURABLE GEORGES P. VANIER. THE RIGHT HONOURABLE ROLAND MICHENER. | Aug. 18, 1883 May 1, 1888 May 22, 1893 July 30, 1898 Sept. 26, 1904 Mar. 21, 1916 Aug. 2, 1921 Aug. 5, 1926 Feb. 9, 1931 Aug. 10, 1935 Apr. 3, 1940 Mar. 21, 1946 Jan. 24, 1952 Aug. 1, 1959 | July 1, 1867 Feb. 2, 1869 June 25, 1878 Oct. 23, 1883 June 11, 1888 Sept. 18, 1893 Nov. 12, 1895 Dec. 10, 1904 Oct. 13, 1911 Nov. 11, 1916 Aug. 11, 1921 Oct. 2, 1922 Apr. 4, 193 Nov. 2, 1933 June 21, 1944 Feb. 28, 1955 Apr. 17, 196 |

The Cabinet.—The Cabinet is a committee of Ministers chosen by the Prime Minister (the leader of the political party forming the Government of the Day) generally from Members of Parliament. By convention, all members of the Cabinet either have seats in Parliament or secure seats within a short time and, again by convention, all Ministers in charge of departments of government are generally Members of the House of Commons although there is nothing in the Constitution to prevent a Minister with Portfolio being a Senator.* However, they generally prefer to have seats in the House of Commons where all crucial legislation, by convention, is introduced and where they can offer explanations necessary to secure passage of their Estimates or legislation with which they are deeply concerned. Ministers without Portfolio (without a department to administer)† can be members of either the House of Commons or the Senate. Frequently the Cabinet contains one Minister without Portfolio—usually the Leader of the Government in the Senate—and perhaps one or two others chosen for a variety of reasons such as the desirability of including certain provincial or sectional representation that might otherwise be lacking in the Ministry.

Cabinet members are selected by the Prime Minister in such manner as to ensure, as far as possible, representation of the several geographical and political regions of the country and its principal ethnic, religious and social interests. Each Cabinet Minister generally assumes charge of one of the departments of government, although a Minister may hold more than one portfolio at the same time or he may hold one or more portfolios and one or more acting portfolios, or a Minister without Portfolio may hold one or more acting portfolios. In his acting capacity, the Minister exercises the same authority as if he were the Minister of the department.

The position of Prime Minister, the keystone of the Cabinet, is one of exceptional authority. He alone makes recommendations on the dissolution and convocation of Parliament, appointment of Privy Councillors, Cabinet Ministers, Lieutenant-Governors, Chief Justices, Senators, Speakers of the Senate and House of Commons, and Deputy Heads of departments. The Cabinet, under his leadership, directs the business of the Commons, initiates nearly all public Bills placed before Parliament, and has complete

Senator the Hon. Gideon Decker Robertson held the portfolio of Minister of Labour for the periods Nov. 7, 1918 to Dec. 29, 1921 and Aug. 7, 1930 to Feb. 2, 1932; Senator the Hon. Malcolm Wallace McCutcheon served as Minister of Trade and Commerce from Feb. 12 to Apr. 22, 1963.

[†] Ministers without Portfolio are at present referred to as Members of the Administration.